Hipstamatic


 

Preparing for arrival

iPhone Application

I have a lot of admiration for people who are creative. I respect individuals who have the power of the pen and those who can express themselves through music or art. Photography to me is capturing a moment, a memory, or anything significant that you want to remember. Recently, I have become more interested in photography and can appreciate the talent of the artist behind the camera. Unfortunately, I feel that I am devoid of any artistic creativity, the things that I can do at a very basic level- meaning I can take a photo when someone says ‘cheese’, I can hum a tune and pretend that I am a famous singer when I am in the shower and the only colouring I can do is changing the colour of my clothes when they get into the washing machine.

One of the many qualities that I respect my boyfriend for is that he claims to be technological geek- He likes to keep up-to-date with any for of technology including iPhone applications. One application he introduced me to was the Hipstamatic application. http://hipstamaticapp.com/

The application is based on a cheap plastic camera that was produced in the 80’s called the Hipstamatic 100 which increased in popularity because of the ‘retro’ photographs that it produced.  Unfortunately this camera was not commercially successful as apparently only 200 units were actually sold- This regained popularity when an application for the iPhone was launched.

The great thing about the application is that a photograph taken digitally resembles that of an analog camera. You can choose different filters, flashes or films to give that retro effect. It is a fun application, and best of all it gives a very professional look to your photographs.

Here are some photos that I have taken with the Hipstamatic application.

View from the Gozo Ferry

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment